Monday, March 27, 2023
No menu items!

USA to face Netherlands in Women’s World Cup


The tournament will be played in July and August 2023 at 10 venues across Australia and New Zealand. It is the first time that it is played in the southern hemisphere and with 32 teams, which will make up eight groups of four teams each in the initial phase.

Quadruple champion USA was drawn into Group E with Vietnam, the Netherlands and a tie winner to be determined.

Playoffs to qualify the remaining three teams will take place in Auckland in February.

Under the draw formula, the top six ranked teams cannot meet in the group stage.

As in the draw for the men’s World Cup, the teams were placed in “pots” of eight, according to the FIFA ranking.

In Pot 1 were the USA, Sweden, Germany, England, France and Spain, to which were added the hosts Australia and New Zealand, qualified automatically. New Zealand was in Group A and Australia in Group B.

In Pot 2 were Canada, the Netherlands, Brazil, Japan, Norway, Italy, China and South Korea. The 3 contained Denmark, Switzerland, Ireland, Colombia, Argentina, Vietnam, Costa Rica and Jamaica.

Pot 4 was made up of Nigeria, the Philippines, South Africa, Morocco, Zambia and the three that have yet to qualify.

On the opening day on July 20, New Zealand will take on 1995 champions Norway and Australia will take on Ireland, who have qualified for the first time.

In qualifier A, Cameroon, Thailand and Portugal will face each other: in Group B, Senegal, Haiti and Chile, and in Group C, Taipei, Paraguay, Papua New Guinea and Panama.

More than 800 people attended the draw, including New Zealand Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and Australian Sports Minister Anika Wells. They included American Carli Lloyd, former England striker Ian Wright and Brazilian Gilberto Silva.

The ceremony was dominated by the Maori cultures of New Zealand and the original nations of Australia.


Group A: New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Switzerland.

Group B: Australia, Ireland, Nigeria, Canada.

Group C: Spain, Costa Rica, Zambia, Japan.

Group D: England, Denmark, China, Group B playoff winner

Group E: USA, Netherlands, Group A playoff winner

Group F: France, Jamaica, Brazil, Group C playoff winner

Group G: Sweden, South Africa, Italy, Argentina.

Group H: Germany, Morocco, Colombia, South Korea.

Latest news
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here